Trust

Trusting someone or something is a very difficult and easy thing to do all at the same time.  When you get into your vehicle, you put the key in, turn it, and it starts.  There’s an amount of trust that goes into that action.  You trust the idea that when I do this, this should happen.  But there’s also times when trusting is very hard to do.  Take for example this morning:  as I sat here in my office, out of nowhere I heard a cry.  Not sure of what it is, I opened my window and stuck my head out.  It was then that I saw the source of the noise.  A black and white cat.  Now if anyone has been around me for a short time, they know I am NO cat person.  But the way this one looked, was shivering from the cold, I couldn’t help but try and coax him in.  At least to get warm, then stick him back outside. But, no matter how much I tried, no regards to the warmth that was inside the building, the cat wouldn’t follow.  And as I thought to myself, “Alright, have it your way cat.”  It was almost as if God spoke in that moment of thought, “How many times are you that cat, and I am calling to you.   But no matter how hard I try, no matter that I have exactly what you need, do you refuse to come?”   Talk about humbling.  But the question remains: do I, do you, trust God enough to lead you?  To take care of your needs?  The needs of your family?  Do you trust Him to watch over your kids?  Loved ones?

Something easy to say but extremely hard to live out in action is this idea that God knows our best interest, exactly what we need, when we need it.  All we have to do is trust and follow.

So, as Aladdin says to Jasmine, God is saying to us (perhaps standing in a magic carpet); “Do you trust Me?”

Leave a comment